Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board


  • 8:30 am
  • Third Tuesday of every month
  • Miller Building 1st Floor Conference Room, 2825 3rd Ave. North
  • 9 members, 2-year term

For more information, contact Lora Mattox at (406) 247-8622 

If you are interested in applying for the Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board (City seat) you can download an application.


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meeting. Minutes are posted in the same location after approval. 

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes Prior to August 2019 are archived here: 

View All archived agendas

View All archived minutes



Rebecca Jeter - Inter-local 

(406) 694-3505

Third term expires 12/31/2025


Vacant – Inter-local

First term expires 12/31/2025


Linda Lien – Inter-local

(406) 939-0961

First term expires 12/31/2025


Zachary Garhart - Inter-local

(406) 256-6811

Second term expires 12/31/2024


Evan Bruce - Laurel

(406) 598-7883
 Third term expires 12/31/2024

Keith Edgerton - City of Billings 

(406) 861-2845

Third term expires 12/31/2023


Brenna Moloney - Yellowstone County 

(217) 413-8951
Second term expires 12/31/2024

Ginger Aldrich - Inter-local

(406) 850-1554
First term expires 12/31/25

Vacant - Crow Tribe


Section 6-703-707

The Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board shall consist of nine members with a demonstrated interest, competence, and knowledge in historic preservation. The following five members shall be selected jointly by all signatories to the Interlocal Agreement establishing the Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board. Each signatory has one vote. In this selection process, the simple majority vote will prevail.

The board shall include at least three members with professional expertise in the disciplines of history, planning, archaeology, architecture, architectural history, or other historic preservation-related disciplines such as cultural geography or cultural anthropology. The Board shall also include two additional members from the following: one member of the Yellowstone County Board of Planning; one member of the Laurel Board of Planning; one property owner either residing or owning a business in a historic district or who owns property listed on the National Register of Historic Places; one member of a city/county preservation society.

The four remaining board members shall be considered "at-large" and shall consist of: one City of Billings resident appointed by the Billings City Council; one county resident appointed by the Yellowstone County Commissioners; one City of Laurel resident appointed by the Laurel City Council; one Crow Tribal member who lives within the Yellowstone County portion of the Crow Reservation or elsewhere within Yellowstone County appointed by the Crow Tribal Council.

The Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board shall establish by-laws conforming to the guidelines set forth in the "Certified Local Government Program in Montana." The Board shall maintain a system for the survey and inventory of historic and prehistoric properties, review and participate in all proposed National Register nominations with the City of Laurel, City of Billings, Crow Reservation and / or Yellowstone County, encourage public participation while assisting with the enforcement of appropriate state and local legislation concerning historic preservation, and review and comment on land use proposals and planning programs related to historic resources.