Yellowstone County Planning Board

       MPOLogo_rgbMeetings:  6:00 pm  on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month

Miller Building 1st Floor Conference Room, 2825 3rd Ave. North

Get Involved!  Current Planning Board Openings:

**12 Members, (2 year terms)   **Applicants must reside in the City Ward or County District.
Click here for a City of Billings Application. 

BOCC Dist.3, BOCC Dist. 4, BOCC Dist. 6, and the Yellowstone Conservation District.

To Apply, e-mail: Yellowstone County Commissioners Office or call: 406-256-2701.

Planning Board Meeting Agenda Packets

All meetings are legally advertised and announced. Meeting agendas and packets are generally posted on the City of Billings website one week prior to the meeting date. Click Here:  Meeting Agenda and Packet

 suscribeTo be added to a Planning Board subscription list and receive monthly agenda meeting packets email your request: Planning Board Subscription

Additional information on any of these items is available in the Planning and Community Services Office. Hard copies or digital files are available by request: Request for Public Records  
Public hearings are accessible to individuals with physical disabilities. A TTY number for the hearing impaired, 406-657-3079, is available upon request. Special arrangements for participation in the public hearings by individuals with hearing, speech, or vision impairment may be made upon request at least three days prior to the hearing. Notify the Planning Division, at 406-247-8676 or Planning Division Office


Jim Ronquillo - Ward I
1st term expires 12/31/24

Roger Gravgaard - Ward II
1st term expires 12/31/23

Dennie Stephenson - Ward III
2nd term expires 12/31/24

John Staley - Ward IV
1st term expires 12/31/24

David Nordel - Ward V
1st term expires 12/31/24

Scott Reiter, School District #2
Facilities Coordinator. Billings Public Schools
Ex-Officio Board member

Troy Boucher- BOCC Dist. #1
Term expires 12/31/24

Dennis Cook - Dist. #2
Planning Board President
Term expires 12/31/24

Vacant-BOCC Dist. #3
Term expired 12/31/20

Vacant - BOCC Dist. #4
Term expired 12/31/20

Woody Woods
Planning Board Vice President
BOCC Dist. #5 
Term expires 12/31/24

Vacant-BOCC Dist. #6

Morgan Tuss -BOCC Dist. #7
Term expires 12/31/23

Vacant-Yellowstone County Conservation District
Ex-Officio Board member

Planning Staff:

Wyeth Friday, Director
Planning & Community Services Dept. 
2825 3rd Ave. North, 4th Floor
Billings, Montana 59101

Monica Plecker, Planning Division Manager
2825 3rd Ave. North, 4th Floor
Billings, Montana 59101

Tammy Deines, Planning Clerk
2825 3rd Ave. North, 4th Floor
Billings, Montana 59101
Planning Division Office
PH: 406-247-8676


Interlocal Agreement 20-201-202

The Planning Board shall consist of 12 members. Seven members are to be appointed by the Yellowstone County Commissioners, one member to be from the governing board of a soil conservation district or a state cooperative grazing district and two ex-officio non-voting representatives of School District No. 2 and the County Superintendent of Schools. Five members are to be appointed by the Mayor of Billings from within the City limits, one from each of the 5 City Wards. The Planning Board shall consist of citizen members and shall not include any elected official.

The role of the Planning Board shall be to recommend planning policy to the County, Billings and Broadview. The Planning Board also represents the Billings Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) as designated by the Governor of Montana and reviews and recommends action on transportation planning matters for the City and County.  The Planning Board shall perform other planning related functions as requested by the parties hereto.
State of MT Planning Board Member Handbook