Energy and Conservation Commission


  • 3:00 PM
  • Second Monday of every month
  • 2251 Belknap Avenue
  • 7 members, 4 year term

If you are interested in applying for the Energy & Conservation Commission you can download an application

View Most Recent Minutes 
View All Minutes

View Most Recent Agenda
View All Agendas

View Energy and Conservation Commission Presentations

For more information contact:  Louis Engels at (406) 657-8349


(All terms expire 12/31/2025)

Jordan McNaught

Erin Robbins 
(Unexpired term of Jennifer Owen)

Glenn Foy

Neil Kiner

Karen Stears

Randy Hafer

Tim Erikson

This commission was established under Resolution 19-10794, which states:

There is hereby created an energy & conservation commission.  The energy & conservation commission shall be composed of seven citizen members, that must have experience and a demonstrated interest in the fields of energy or conservation, to be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council and may include up to three ex-officio representatives of city departments to be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The Board will coordinate the City of Billings’ current policies and practices regarding energy consumption and resource conservation, to make recommendations to the City Council and City Administrator for future action.  The purpose of the Commission will be to consider ways to conserve energy including areas where the city can reduce the amount of money it spends on energy and ways to limit the city’s impact on the environment.  The commission may also recommend additional areas where city government could assist citizens in minimizing pollution and energy consumption.  The commission will be responsible for conducting an inventory of water and wastewater consumption, waste removal and disposal, pollution and energy efficiency of city-owned and city-managed facilities, vehicles and equipment.  The cost of implementing energy conservation strategies will always be a consideration but should not necessarily limit the discussion, which could include water conservation, recycling, alternate fuels, alternate transportation, alternate energy sources, building and road construction, etc.  The commission shall expire at the end of four (4) years or when the commission members determine by majority vote that their work has been completed, whichever comes first.